MWF Audience


Become a Citizen of Literature.

This year Melbourne Writers Festival is supporting over 250 Australian and international writers and thinkers, by providing them the opportunity to engage, share and celebrate with Victorian readers. We have a long history of nurturing local artists and we have supported the careers of many Australian writers – something we are deeply committed to.

With thanks to the generosity of our donors and sponsors, the annual Melbourne Writers Festival continues to be a world-class event that stimulates and challenges audiences and authors alike. Each Festival builds a community from shared experiences, powerful connections and the exchange of ideas.

Around half of our annual income comes to us through partnerships, donations and philanthropy. We need support to continue building this community of readers and writers. Your contribution will enable us to create a Festival of moments that inspire a lasting passion for reading and ideas. Please donate today.

Here’s how:

Donate online and pay securely by credit card


Download our donation form, complete and return it by post


Include a donation with your ticket purchase (when purchasing MWF tickets between 22 July and 4 September 2016).

MWF is an incorporated association with Deductible Gift Recipient and charitable status. All donations of $2 or more are tax-deductible.

To find out more please contact Rachel Toop, Development Executive via 03 9094 7861 or development(at)

MWF gratefully acknowledges the outstanding generosity of our very special donors.


The Hart Line Fund, a sub-fund of the Australian Communities Foundation


George & Rosa Morstyn


Jill Campbell
Michael & Ann Cohn


Jan McDonald