Kim Scott

Kim Scott is an award-winning novelist. Benang was the first novel by an Indigenous writer to win the Miles Franklin Literary Award, Australia’s premier literary prize; he won another for That Deadman Dance, along with many other awards. A proud member of the Noongar community, Scott is the founder and chair of the Wirlomin Noongar Language and Story Project, which has published a number of bilingual books. A Companion to the Works of Kim Scott deals with aspects of his career in education and literature. He received an Australian Centenary Medal and was 2012 West Australian of the Year. Scott is currently a professor of writing in the school of media, culture and creative arts at Curtin University. His latest novel Taboo is set in rural Western Australia and tells the story of a group of Noongar people who revisit the site of a massacre.

Appearing in these sessions

Kim Scott: Opening Night GalaMore
Aboriginal Literature NowMore

Available at Readings


Taboo takes place in the present day, in the rural South-West of Western Australia, and tells the story of a group of Noongar people who revisit, for...

Buy now

25 August – 3 September