Literary Award Winners

With no shortage of amazing literary talent around at the moment, awards season has kicked off with a bang! We’ve put together this list of literary award winners over the last couple of months – which ones will you add to your TBR pile?

The prestigious Melbourne Prize for Literature was awarded to Alison Lester last week. The Best Writing Award went to Maria Tumarkin for Axiomatic, and the Readings Residency Award was awarded to Jamie Marina Lau for Pink Mountain on Locust Island.

The winner of the Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction in 2018 is Pulse Points by Jennifer Down.

Of course, Michelle de Kretser was awarded the Miles Franklin Literary Award at MWF18 for The Life to Come, becoming only the third woman in the award’s history to win more than once.

Also at the Festival, the Ned Kelly Awards celebrated local crime writing with best fiction awarded to Crossing the Lines by Sulari Gentill, best first fiction presented to Sarah Bailey for The Dark Lake, and Unmaking a Murder: The Mysterious Death of Anna-Jane Cheney by Graham Archer awarded the prize for true crime.

Samuel Wagan Watson was awarded the 2018 Patrick White Literary Award.

Ruth McIver won the Richell Prize for Emerging Writers for her upcoming novel I Shot the Devil.

The Scribe Nonfiction Prize for Young Writers has been awarded to Zowie Douglas-Kinghorn for her entry The Invisible Sea.

In YA, the gold Inky Award winner is Paper Cranes Don’t Fly by Peter Vu, with the silver Inky going to Angie Thomas for The Hate U Give.

The Environment Award for Children’s Literature had two winners in nonfiction, Rock Pool Secrets by Narelle Oliver and Coral Sea Dreaming by Kim Michelle Toft. Florette by Anna Walker took out the prize for picture fiction, while the fiction award was won by Samantha Wheeler for Wombat Warriors.

Internationally, Anna Burns was awarded the 2018 Man Booker Prize for Milkman.

In the US’s National Book Awards, The Friend by Sigrid Nunez won the prize for fiction, while The New Negro: The Life of Alain Locke by Jeffrey C Stewart took home the nonfiction title. Poetry was awarded to Indecency by Justin Phillip Reed, with The Emissary by Yoko Tawada (translated from Japanese by Margaret Mitsutani) winning the translated literature award. Elizabeth Acevedo was awarded the prize in young people’s literature for The Poet X.