Read All About It

‘A writer, I think, is someone who pays attention to the world,’ wrote Susan Sontag. In this specially commissioned series, acclaimed writers Helen Garner, Sisonke Msimang, Christos Tsiolkas and Ali Cobby Eckermann reflect on what has held their attention in their lives, their careers, and their writing.

Approached with nuance and clear-eyed critique, this series considers how the events of the last few months have shaped, altered, or shaken up the locus of our individual and collective attentions.

Supported by Guardian Australia

Sisonke Msimang

Sat 8 Aug | Commission

Portrait of Sisonke Msimang.

Published on 8 August

Christos Tsiolkas

Sun 9 Aug | Commission

Portrait of Christos Tsiolkas.

Published on 9 August

Helen Garner

Sat 15 Aug | Commission

Portrait of Helen Garner.

Published on 15 August

Ali Cobby Eckermann

Sat 16 Aug | Commission

Portrait of Ali Cobby Eckermann.

Published on 16 August