Christos Tsiolkas

Christos Tsiolkas is the author of eight novels, including Loaded, which was made into the feature film Head-On, The Jesus Man and Dead Europe, which won the 2006 Age Fiction Prize and the 2006 Melbourne Best Writing Award, as well as being made into a feature film. His fourth novel, the international bestseller The Slap, won Overall Best Book in the Commonwealth Writers' Prize 2009, was shortlisted for the 2009 Miles Franklin Literary Award, longlisted for the 2010 Man Booker Prize and won the Australian Literary Society Gold, as well as the 2009 Australian Booksellers Association and Australian Book Industry Awards Books of the Year. Christos's fifth novel, Barracuda, was shortlisted for the ALS Gold Medal and the inaugural Voss Literary Prize. The Slap and Barracuda were both adapted into celebrated television series. Christos's acclaimed collection of short stories, Merciless Gods, was published in 2014 and his critical literary study On Patrick White came out in 2018. His sixth novel, Damascus, was published in 2019 and won the 2019 Victorian Premier's Literary Award for Fiction. 7½ was published in 2021 and won the Melbourne Prize for Literature. Christos is also a playwright, essayist and screen writer. He lives in Melbourne.

Christos Tsiolkas is appearing in the following events:

Ghosted: Bryan Washington and Christos Tsiolkas

Award-winning storytellers Christos Tsiolkas (The In-Between) and Bryan Washington (Family Meal) share the stage to discuss their acclaimed new novels that tenderly depict the triumphs and obstacles of love, in conversation with Maeve Marsden.  

Supported by the Faculty of Arts, University of Melbourne
Sat 11 May 1:30pm @ The Capitol